Australian Stock Exchange Ltd

see shares

The Australian Securities Exchange (ASX, sometimes referred to outside Australia as the Sydney Stock Exchange) is Australia's primary securities exchange. It is owned by the Australian Securities Exchange Ltd, or ASX Limited, an Australian public company (ASX: ASX). Prior to December 2006, it was known as the Australian Stock Exchange, which was formed on 1 April 1987, incorporated under the legislation of the Australian Parliament as an amalgamation of the six-state securities exchanges. It merged with the Sydney Futures Exchange in 2006.

Today, ASX has an average daily turnover of A$4.685 billion and a market capitalization of around A$1.9 trillion, making it one of the world's top 15 listed exchange groups.